The Day the Earth Stood Still Review

Well here is my last movie review for a little while, then again maybe not…

Well for those of us that did not know this is a remake from a 1951 movie that did rather well. From what I understand the movie did well because of the time it was released. The new one I saw a couple of days ago left me thinking about how the heck something like this got all the press that it did. Did people not see the many movies about the end of the world before, Lets see off the top of my head I can think of Deep Impact, or the Day After Tomorrow, or even War of the Worlds.

The special effects were good and well the lead actor was Keanu Reeves. I really do like Keanu Reeves, I remember watching him in Bill and Teds Excellent adventure, but after the remarkable success The Matrix we just are not seeing this man act. I am not sure we really have, I would never consider attacking an actor on a personal level but I have to wonder if this is the way he holds himself everyday. Its that so relaxing “we are here to save the planet”… yes the part required him to have little emotion but we are seeing this time and time again from him.

Jaden Smith plays a son of a fallen soldier that is now living with his Step Mom and you can tell that there is some pressure in that situation; however I really started to get annoyed by his characters roll. I just kept thinking that no child would talk and behave like that with me. I can be sympathetic towards a bad situation. It can not be easy but enough is enough. As far as the acting that Jaden did… What a great job. He has really taken on acting with flair like his father. Mr. Smith you have a lot to be proud of.

Now I must say that I am the only one in my family that did not like this movie. Maybe saying that I did not like it was not fair at all, see I judge a movie by how many times I look at my watch to see how long it will be until the movie is over, I did not do that once. So it did have my attention. I just think with all the hype I would have liked to see a little more. What would I have like to see, well I am not sure, if I knew I would be writing movie scripts and sending them in. So to wrap this up I would have to say that I am going to call it like I see it, wait for the DVD to come out, I am not sure I would even buy the DVD, rent it or put it on your Net Flix list.

Leave a comment